Cernunnos · devotional poetry · Uncategorized

Insight

Opposites attract.
Maybe that is why this happened,
why I was drawn inexorably
to one who sits in stillness
as storms rage around Him.

Maybe my changeability,
instability, chaotic frenzy
were a welcome counterpoint.
Or maybe I just needed You.

Because You loved me even then,
didn’t You? When I first heard
Your voice, calling, promising,
commanding – You already loved me.
You already knew.
And since I needed, You gave.

So it has been with us from the start.
Your constant love,
unending faithfulness,
boundless generosity
contrasting with my stumbling,
my defeat, and my flight.

With every insight I think
I understand this less.

Leave a Reply

