Cernunnos · Himself

Endurance

I endure.

It is not a happy thought, so depression cannot take it from me.

I endure because You have been writing Yourself into my being since the moment of my birth, Your name now etched into the steel beneath my skin.

I endure, and each moment of my endurance is an offering to You, an offering formed of my blood, my sweat, or my tears. On occasion I give a triple offering, with each running into the other and I feel Your grin harsh against my flesh.

I endure, and my endurance is Yours. Yours is the voice that taught my heart to bear its burden, the voice that whispered into my spirit that I can make my horrors into my strength.

I endure with You, because of You, my many-faced Lover. You who are the tender lips on my throat and the chilled blade in my chest, You who would seem to have me die to one life and rise anew as Yours – You are constant within the whirling chaos around me.

And if I am the monster I sometimes feel, You are monstrous beside me and so I shall endure.

4 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. “And if I am the monster I sometimes feel, You are monstrous beside me and so I shall endure.”

    This entire thing is beautiful, but that line in particular hit home for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

