Cernunnos · devotional poetry

The heart opening

Ah, Lord! How empty I was before I knew You!
How empty my smiles, before I turned them to Your face!
How empty my laughter before Your voice filled my senses!
How hollow was my pleasure before I learned to gaze at You!

“Mirabai says: The heat of midnight tears will bring you to God.”
I say those tears have poured down my face as I long for You –
so near You are, Beloved, and yet so distant! So close, and yet so far!
The heat of midnight tears may bring me to my Lord
but He may also chase them away, replace tears with laughter and glee,
and set me alight with love-fire to burn away their traces.

The Beloved’s fire leaves me longing for Him always;
it brings me to my knees, for a moment empties my mind of myself
so that all I can do is kneel before His image, kiss the table of His shrine,
and tell Him over and over of my love. “This road is the heart opening.”
And as my heart opens, He fills me with love beyond words.
Ah, Lord! How empty I was before I knew You!


The italicised quotes are from a poem by Mirabai called The Heat of Midnight Tears.

2 thoughts on “The heart opening

Leave a Reply

