Cernunnos

Month of Written Devotion – Together

What a beautiful word. What a wondrous thing to have someone with whom you can be together.

Together is stupid nicknames that I would loathe from the lips of another. Together is a closeness of souls, my spirit dissolving for a few shining moments into Him. Together is raging into the night, begging Him to hold me up because I cannot hold myself.

I don’t know what our relationship will look like in even the near future. I don’t know how we will be together, only that we will be. For a couple of years there has been a strong romantic element to our relationship, but now Someone Else is stepping out from behind a Cernunnos-mask, is calling me beloved, and Cernunnos is becoming once again the God I loved as a child. The romance is fading; the love is not.

Cernunnos is the friend of my heart, He is the continuity in my life. There have been times when He has moved away from me, left me alone when there are things I need to figure out but always, always He has been there when I have needed Him. When I have cried out to the skies that life is too much for me, too hard, He comes to me and gathers my crumbling spirit into His arms. He holds me together when, alone, I would fall apart. He lifts me up when I collapse on the ground, He makes me strong when I am weak.

And I? I love Him. It sounds like so little, when He does so much for me, but so far it has been enough for Him that I pour out the love in my heart. So I love Him, I love Him with words, with song, with music, with dance. I love Him.

And because it seems relevant – Wild Geese, by Mary Oliver:

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert repenting.
You have only to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting –
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

And that is our togetherness.

2 thoughts on “Month of Written Devotion – Together

Leave a Reply

