devotional poetry · Man in Black

Quiet

All is quiet, but I know You are here.
This is a sacred thing, this life, this longing,
so You would have me believe.
And so it tears me apart at the seams,
I rip my soul into shreds to let in the light,
to let You in, Beloved One,
but where are You now?

Where are You now
while I blunder through the darkness?
Where are You now
when I kneel to speak to You?
Where are You now that I cannot turn back?

You wait out of sight,
Your trail of breadcrumbs leading me
further into the wild forest.

I cannot find You, Lord,
cannot see Your face or hear Your voice
and this, too, is a sacred thing.
So You would have me believe.

Leave a Reply

