Cernunnos · devotional poetry

Old as Time

Beloved, Beloved, I am no poet nor writer,
no teller of tales nor weaver of words.
I am merely a head full of words,
a heart overflowing with love
enthroned in flesh and made distant from You.

On calm nights I, too, am calm
saying only, again and again,
“I love You, Lord, I love You.ā€
On wild nights I rage, my heart screaming
words my mind cannot grasp.

I feel Your lack deep in my bones,
I feel Your absence shuddering through me
and I am never more human than in those moments,
never more alive than when I stand alone,
lost, lonely, wishing with all my heart for the one I love.

4 thoughts on “Old as Time

  1. Your poetry is beautiful – I can’t wait to read more, not only for its beauty, but for the fact that I find myself nodding and saying, “You have put into words what I’ve been struggling to say for a very long time.” The best to you, and may your journeys always continue. He’s an elusive one, that’s for sure – and He escapes names sometimes, for whatever reason He considers. Still to this day He hasn’t told me His name, even though I know it’s Him. Perhaps He wants you to make your own. Perhaps He has wanted you to choose His name, and call Him “Beloved” because not everyone can call Him that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ll have to excuse me, I’ll just be flailing in a corner for a few moments šŸ˜› Seriously though thank you! I’m glad you like it, it’s been ages since I’ve put poetry anywhere people might actually *see* it. I hadn’t considered that idea, but it’s lovely šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi.
    I found you through a re-blog of one of my followers, I wanted to comment that this poem is absolutely lovely.

    Perhaps you are not aware of the skill with which you have captured quite beautifully – in words! – that sense of yearning and love that many would struggle to put into words.

    Thank you for sharing šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

